5th Edition Spells – Produce Flame

Produce Flame

Druid - Cantrip Level Spell

School: Conjuration
Casting Time: 1 Action
Range: Self
Components: Verbal and Somatic
Duration: 10 mInutes
Attack/Save: Ranged
Reference: PHB 269

A flickering flame appears in your hand. The flame remains there for the duration and harms neither you nor your equipment. The flame sheds bright light in a 10-foot radius and dim light for an additional 10 feet. The spell ends if you dismiss it as an action or if you cast it again.

You can also attack with the flame, although doing so ends the spell. When you cast this spell, or as an action on a later turn, you can hurl the flame at a creature within 30 feet of you. Make a ranged spell attack. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 fire damage.

This spell’s damage increases by 1d8 when you reach 5th level (2d8), 11th level (3d8), and 17th level (4d8).

My Comments: Kind of iconic, right? The spell-caster in a dark room snaps their fingers and a ball of flame appears in their hand. I mean, sure, Light is probably better for providing light to see by, but it’s just not as visceral as holding a living flame in your hand.

Also, you can throw it up to 30 feet for damage. Can’t do that with light. Add in some flame-based character builds and it’s a handy little damage spell.

But let’s not forget that flame is, well, flame. It has uses other than just throwing at people for damage. Use it to start bigger fires, burn ropes, warm up leftovers, you know, all the things flames are handy for.

Regarding the ropes comment, there’s a cool thing there. In the description it says the flame hurts neither you nor your equipment. If the druid in the dark room happens to be tied up, they can safely use produce flame to burn through the ropes without worrying about setting their own robes on fire, or their own skin! Of course, it has both verbal and somatic components, so your druid will need a free hand and no gag.

I find myself wondering if it could be combined with an open-handed attack. The description specifically says it’s a ranged attack when used offensively but I think I would allow it under “rule of cool” standards. Maybe I would ask the druid/brawler or druid/monk to say they’re spending time practicing that maneuver, or be willing to accept the damage on their own hand when used that way, with the idea that it’s not hot to you until you make it a weapon, then it’s hot to anybody, including you.

Of course, the important thing is that it looks cooler than a regular Light spell.

[P.S. Check out the Wacky Dungeon game just above the footer!]

Dave Goff

Writing and creating in my spare time to avoid going crazy in this mad, mad, world. Check out some of my materials on DMsGuild and let me know what you think! subscribe to keep up with new posts and leave comments to keep the conversation going.

Leave a comment or journal entry...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Draw a card from the

New on DMsGuild