5th Edition Spells – Resistance


Artificer, Cleric, Druid - Cantrip Level Spell

School: Abjuration
Casting Time: 1 Action
Range: Touch
Components: Verbal, Somatic, and Material
Duration: 1 Minute
Attack/Save: None
Reference: PHB 272

You touch one willing creature. Once before the spell ends, the target can roll a d4 and add the number rolled to one saving throw of its choice. It can roll the die before or after making the saving throw. The spell then ends.

resistance cantrip 5e not worth it, nuff saidMy Comments:  This cantrip is pretty straight-forward- trade an Action and Concentration for a willing creature to get a d4 added to a save.

I tried to think of reasons to take this spell and, for the most part, I have to say, nope, not worth it.

Mostly, you probably have better things you could be doing with your full action that turn, better things to do with your concentration (remember, you can only concentrate on one spell at a time) and better choices for cantrips to be keeping handy.

It’s not that it’s completely useless, just not useful enough to justify the action, concentration and spell availability costs.

As Stan Lee and Nina Simone would say “‘Nuff said!”

[P.S. Check out the Wacky Dungeon game just above the footer!]

Dave Goff

Writing and creating in my spare time to avoid going crazy in this mad, mad, world. Check out some of my materials on DMsGuild and let me know what you think! subscribe to keep up with new posts and leave comments to keep the conversation going.


  1. Holland K on October 27, 2019 at 7:18 pm

    Yep, they need to buff that. I’d be better is it was a larger dice range that could be scald up with levels; could be you hold them in reserve till needing them. That would make’em OP.

    • Dave Goff on October 27, 2019 at 7:26 pm

      Yeah, actually, one of those by themselves would make it worthwhile- either it scales and affect more people or has more dice as you level, OR the recipient can hold on to it for longer and it didn’t require the caster to concentrate on it.
      I think that would be reasonable
      Or, wait… as a cantrip it could be cast as many times as the caster wanted, so it would need a limit, like no person could get receive the spell more than once per day or something.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Draw a card from the

New on DMsGuild

[feedzy-rss feeds=https://www.dmsguild.com/rss_bestsellers.php?affiliate_id=762475 summary="no" meta="no"]